top of page

The Secret of Trees


Another day on the beautiful laid-back island of Pulau Ubin.

Today, I got involved in monitoring some of the trees planted along the Sensory Trail. We had to record measurements of the trees and tag them!

Trees don't usually appeal to people that much. They appreciate the greenery, but the trees generally all look the same to them. Are you like that too?

Well, I don't blame you. I was very much like that too. In fact, I still have problems differentiating certain plants because they really do look the same to me. I guess the only difference between you and me is the fact that I was pretty much forced to learn my plants. Got to do what I got to do!

Those green things really intimidated me at the beginning. Also, I really was more of an animal person (still am actually). However, as I went about doing my research on the various plants, I became drawn to them. There are many interesting stories to tell about plants.

Apart from the fact that they are so important for the environment and a crucial piece in the food web, they also provide us with all kinds of medical benefits and uses. Many of them also have really interesting adaptations as well as cool symbiotic relationships with other organisms.

Once I got to know my plants, there really is no turning back. It feels good to be able to go out and differentiate the greens, knowing a little secret or two about them. It's like you have a special connection with the plants that's unbeknownst to all around you.

They've got my back too. When all the animals go into hiding on a guided walk, I always know I can count on my plants to stay rooted and be there for me.

Cheers to Trees!

Tammy


About Me.

Tammy Lim

Nature Educator.

bottom of page